Speakers Bureau

Houston CPA Society members are available to speak to local community groups on a variety of topics. We make it easy to arrange a dynamic speaker who will talk to your group about business or personal financial issues, the CPA profession, technology, ethics, leadership, and more!

The Houston CPA Society provides this Speakers Bureau as a community service to most organizations at no charge. Suggested topics are listed, but presentations can be tailored to your request.

Review the Speakers Bureau Directory and contact speakers with topics that are of interest. Please contact speakers well in advance of your date; a minimum of three weeks prior is preferred.

HOUSTON CPA SOCIETY MEMBERS: Volunteer today to be a part of the Speakers Bureau by contacting Jennifer Poff, Executive Director (jpoff@houstoncpa.org  or 713.622.7733 x370). Remember, there is a Speaking Out Policy in the TSCPA Volunteer Manual defining the circumstances under which a member can represent the views of TSCPA. While it is important to review and adhere to this policy - which can be found in the Volunteer Policies and Procedures section of the Volunteer Community web page - it refers mainly to expressions of TSCPA positions. It does not apply to most media inquiries that involve general information about CPAs or financial matters. The key question to ask yourself is "Am I being asked to express the opinion of TSCPA on this matter?" If so, only leadership listed in the policy may speak. If not, anyone qualified to answer may speak.

Media Response Team: Members of the media should contact Jennifer Poff, Executive Director (jpoff@houstoncpa.org  or 713.622.7733 x370).

ACCOUNTING CAREER PRESENTATIONS FOR SCHOOLS
The Houston CPA Society also provides speakers and career awareness materials to schools for use at career day events and presentations. If your school would like a CPA to make a presentation about the profession, please contact Frances Boeckers, Membership Marketing Manager (fboeckers@houstoncpa.org or 713.622.7733 x240).

Topic/Title

 Speaker/Contact Information


How to Get Financing for Your Small Business

Scott Actkinson
Statesman Business Advisors, LLC
(713) 595-1341
sactkinson@statesmanbiz.com


The Costs of Employee Theft and Abuse

Bob Barr
(832) 654-5890
bob.barr@comcast.net

Tax Updates
Tax Simplification
IRS Taxes in Bankruptcy
Converting Corporations to Limited Partnerships

E. Rhett Buck, CPA, Attorney
(713) 868-9447
ERhettBuck@aol.com

Tax Controversy

Don Clanton
Clanton CPA, P.C.
(281) 256-7273
don.clanton@clantoncpa.com

 
The Legendary Leader

Chuck Cummings
Cummings & Houston, L.L.P.
(713) 224-8890 x71
chuck@cummingshouston.com

Boom or Bust, It's Still About the People Bridging the Gap: Four Generations in the Workplace Winning the War for Talent Hiring and Keeping the Best

Moritza E. Day
Day West & Associates
(713) 529-3399
mday@daywestinc.com

 
Proud To Be A CPA

Elwood Domaschk
Domaschk & Associates, P.C.
(713) 932-7028
elwooddomaschk@sbcglobal.net

 
Miscellaneous

Ray Frierson
Frierson, Solá, Simonton & Kutac, PLLC
(713) 651-9250 x223
ray@friersoncpa.com

 
Tax Planning Issues

Edward M. Gardner
Gardner & Co., P.C.
(713) 629-1040
edgardner@msn.com

 
Tax Consequences of Entity Selection

Gary Gardner
Gary R. Gardner, CPA, P.C.
(281) 762-2069
grgcpa@att.net

 
Interventions to Improve Business Performance

Mike Goodfriend
Goodfriend & Associates
(713) 789-6840
mikeg@goodfriendconsulting.com

 
Reality Based Investing

Steve Goodman
Goodman Financial Corporation
(713) 599-1777
SGoodman@GoodmanFinancial.com

 
Never Underestimate the Value of A CPA

Tom Kikis
(281) 379-6366
tkikis1@att.net

Corporate Governance
SEC Reporting and Auditing

Michael G. McConnell
Grant Thornton LLP
(832) 476-3739
michael.mcconnell@us.gt.com

 How To Pay For College

  
   O. Albert Okagbue, CPA
   (832) 408-1664
   albert@cerebralstrategies.com

Business Valuation Basics

David L. Palmer
Genesis Valuation Partners
(713) 828-1751
dpalmer@genesispartners.info

Building Public Trust

Stephen G. Parker
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
(713) 356-6505
stephen.g.parker@us.pwc.com

Nonprofit Organizations
Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA)

Kathy Ploch
Harper & Pearson Company, P.C.
(713) 579-2381
kploch@harperpearson.com

Ethics/SEC Reporting

Rick Powers
(713) 303-6953
rickdpowers@yahoo.com

Get Their Hands Off Your Piece of the Pie
Personal Finance for 55 and Over
Having the Wrong Small Business Retirement Plan Could Be Costing You

Weldon J. Reeves
TR&R Investment Advisors, LLC
(281) 990-8228
weldon@trrcpa.com

Miscellaneous

Ginger Snider
V L Snider, P.C.
(936) 931-1315
vlsnidercpa@vlsnidercpa.com

Miscellaneous

Bob Sweeney
Robert J. Sweeney CPA
(713) 828-0672
rsweeney.cpa@gmail.com

Computer Technology

Barry Wilken
International Cellulose Corporation
(713) 433-6701 x208
bwilken@spray-on.com

CPAs – A Dynamic and Secure Profession

Al Zientek
Zientek & Co, P.C.
(281) 496-6152 x201
azientek@zientek.com