Annual Awards Banquet

Distinguished Houston CPAs and students were honored at the Annual Awards Banquet held May 18th, 2017 at the Bayou Center. Awards Committee Chair Janelle Jones hosted the night. Fellow Houston CPA Society members took part in the celebration by helping present the awards to their colleagues. Award winners have shown and continue to show exemplary dedication to the work of the Society. They have made many sacrifices, going above and beyond, helping the Society grow while giving back to the accounting profession.

The night continued with scholarships awarded to some of the best and brightest Houston area university students. The scholarships, funded by proceeds from the Scholarship Extravaganza, are granted to students who intend to become certified public accountants in Texas, have demonstrated financial need, superior ethics, citizenship, and high scholastic achievement on campus based on the judgment of accounting faculty at each participating university. Congratulations to all of the award winners and scholarship recipients.

Award Banquet Photo Album.

Houston CPA Award Winners

Outstanding Committee Chair
Stephen King CPA
CGMA Strategic Planning Committee

Outstanding Committee Member

Personal Financial Planning Outstanding Speaker of the Year
Kate Warne, Ph.D., CFA

Outstanding Student Member
Carlos Cruz

Outstanding Young CPA
Austin Carlson CPA, JD

Outstanding CPA of the Year
Kelly Hunter, CPA

Rookie of the year
Rubik Yeriazarian CPA

Significant Contribution by Member in Public Practice
Carol Warley CPA, JD, PFS

Significant Contribution by Member in Industry
Brian Alberts, CPA

Special Recognition
Curtis Low CPA

CPE Event of the Year
Energy Conference

Outstanding Committee
Personal Financial Planning Relations with Taxing Authorities Committee

Excellent Service Award
Patricia Huizar Harris County Appraisal District
Janet Bradford Internal Revenue Service

Distinguished Service to the Profession
Jeff Harris, CPA

Distinguished Public Service
Reed Wood, CPA

John B. Harrison Award for Service
Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA)
Rhett Buck CPA, JD

Scholarship Award Recipients

Houston Baptist University Ashleigh Bass - Ana Carmona - Ryan Peschong

Sam Houston State University Angelica Barzelay - Austin Jenkins - Kyle Kolkhorst

Prairie View A&M University Brittany Kinney – Rebekah Preston - Antoinette Williams

University of Houston - Main Phuong Nguyen - Cynthia Nguyen - Niti Desai - Maria Josh - Hieu Do - Nisha Raheel -Thu Nguyen - Hamza Khan - Quynh Vo - Jessica Nguyen

University of Houston – Downtown Kevin Ly – Lori Zardenta

Lonestar College Marcelino Mercado

University of Houston - Clear Lake Phuc H. Nguyen

Texas Southern University - Thanh Le

University of St. Thomas Gabrielle Capistran - Kenzie Owen - Byron Wolfford